Sonnets: “The Heart’s Betrayal”

The Heart’s Betrayal

I hear her voice and cannot help but smile,

I hold her eyes and do not need to speak,

I hear her laughter and life seems worthwhile,

I think of her and am bereft of sleep.

When she is near my thoughts are but a blur,

I feel contentment  and great tenderness,

When she leaves, even briefly, I endure,

An irrational growing emptiness.

I do not wish to love her, yet I do,

And recognize the pain that it will cause,

To one who loves me deeply, long and true,

And does not know of her potential loss.

Reason decries the growing love I feel,

Yet it is there, most powerful and real.

From Of Pain and Ecstasy: Collected Poems (C) 2011 Victor D. López
Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Poetry

Leave a Reply

