On Fading Dreams

On Fading Dreams

Why have you left me, sweet old dreams of youth?
I’ve tried so hard to hold them in my heart,
Where have they fled, faith, honesty and truth,
Or were they only visions from the start?

Do I hear music deep within my soul?
Or mocking echoes from a bygone time?
The embers grow, though I am growing old,
But they grow dark and cold, as does my rhyme.

Each passing moment wears away my hope,
As does the wind-swept sand the desert stone;
Rich symphonies fading into one note,
Leaving me empty, bitter and alone.

I grieve not for my life; I have more sense,
I grieve far greater loss — my innocence.

From Of Pain and Ecstasy: Collected Poems (C) 2011 Victor D. Lopez

Various sample readings from of Pain and Ecstasy are available at

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGA9jqMarpGQdW3Zj6X1CZw?view_as=public

1 Comment

Filed under Poetry

One response to “On Fading Dreams

  1. Pingback: Third Sunday Blog Carnival: July 2013 | Third Sunday Blog Carnival

Leave a Reply

