Remembering 9/11

My heart aches today. The memory of 9/11/2001 is indelibly marked on my psyche. I had vowed to avoid watching the coverage today because it is simply too painful. Nonetheless, I watched the reading of the names for awhile after a silent prayer as in past anniversaries of this tragic day. And then I made the mistake of reading some online posts and commentaries for today, amazed and angered at the number attempts to explain, mitigate or otherwise justify that which is unjustifiable.

My emotions are too raw today to give the subject the attention it deserves. I will return to it in the future. For today, I would just like to leave it at this: Evil reigns freely in this world when people of conscience refuse to confront it and tolerate mendacious justifications for its barbarous acts out of a misguided sense of political correctness. We dishonor the memory of the men and women who paid for our freedom with their lives on 9/11 and thereafter when we fail to loudly proclaim terror in the service of any cause as an affront to humanity.

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics

Leave a Reply

